The Hunt for Good Children’s Books – The Christmas Time Series

PART 1 | PART 2 | PART 3 | PART 4 | PART 5 | PART 6 | PART 7 | PART 8 | PART 9 | PART 10 | PART 11 | PART 12 | PART 13 | PART 14 | PART 15 | PART 16

Have you ever felt the frustration of not being able to find enough Christmas themed stories during this time of the year that you haven’t read over and over again? Have no fear, Dr. Marta is here sharing a new book every day right up until Christmas! Check my Facebook page daily for a new Christmas-themed book to add to your must have shopping list.



DESCRIPTION: Addy and her mother look forward to their first Christmas as free people in the Philadelphia community that welcomed them after their flight from slavery. As they prepare for the holiday season their minds and hearts are filled with hope to be reunited with family members left behind. Yet, the plight of newly arrived ex-slaves cause Addy to shift her focus and learn the true meaning of sacrifice in the cause of freedom. As a result she witnesses the blessings of Christmas she never expects.

WHY I LIKE THIS BOOK: The story of slavery is often painted as a tale of tragedy with little hope and few moments of triumph. Connie Porter’s offering of the Addy series puts a very hope filled and victorious face on a dark chapter in American history. We learn about the support network in the North that worked vigorously to help ex- slaves transition to new lives and greater opportunities. It is also very clear that pain and suffering was a part of daily living even in a land where masters and plantations were miles away. The real joy of giving is exhibited in Addy’s sacrifice and her mother’s ingenuity and loving care. Addy’s story gives young readers a prime opportunity to understand the value of freedom and the strength and love of family. You will find few books better suited to teach the true meaning of Christmas to last not only through the holidays but for a lifetime!

~ Dr. Marta


PART 1 | PART 2 | PART 3 | PART 4 | PART 5 | PART 6 | PART 7 | PART 8 | PART 9 | PART 10 | PART 11 | PART 12 | PART 13 | PART 14 | PART 15 | PART 16

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s